News ·

Muse, Arctic Monkeys Among Nominees For 2012 NME Awards

The annual NME Awards are set to take place on Feb. 29 at the O2 Brixton Academy in London. Nominations for the ceremony were announced last night in the U.K., with Arctic Monkeys, Muse, Florence + the Machine and The Horrors among them. Noel Gallagher has already been announced as the recipient of the Godlike Genius award, which mirrors the Outstanding Contribution to Music accolade Blur is receiving at this year’s Brit Awards.  It’s almost like their Britpop rivalry never ended. 

Newer artists among the nominees include Odd Future (Best International Band), the ubiquitous Lana Del Rey and Azealia Banks. And yes, Jared Leto really is up against Malcolm X in the running for Best Book. 

Check out the full list below. [via NME]


Best British Band (supported by Sonos)

Arctic Monkeys

Bombay Bicycle Club

The Horrors



(Last year's winner: Muse)


Best International Band (supported by T4)

Arcade Fire

Foo Fighters


Odd Future

The Strokes

(Last year's winner: My Chemical Romance)


Best Solo Artist (supported by Rekorderlig)


Florence + The Machine

Frank Turner

Laura Marling

Miles Kane

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds

(Last year's winner: Laura Marling)


Best New Band (supported by Boxfresh)

Foster The People

Lana Del Rey


The Vaccines

Wu Lyf

(Last year's winner: Hurts)


Best Live Band (supported by Carling)

Arctic Monkeys




Two Door Cinema Club


Best Album (supported by HMV)

Arctic Monkeys - 'Suck It And See'

The Horrors - 'Skying'

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - 'Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds'

PJ Harvey - 'Let England Shake'

The Vaccines - 'What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?'

(Last year's winner: Arcade Fire – 'The Suburbs')


Best Track (supported by Fender)

Arctic Monkeys - 'The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala'

Bombay Bicycle Club - 'Shuffle'

Florence + The Machine - 'Shake It Out'

Hurts – 'Sunday'

Lana Del Rey - 'Video Games'

(Last year's winner: Foals – 'Spanish Sahara')


Dancefloor Anthem (supported by NME Radio)

Azealia Banks - '212'

Foster The People - 'Pumped Up Kicks'

Justice - 'Civilization'

Katy B - 'Broken Record'

Metronomy - 'The Bay'

(Last year's winner: Professor Green – 'Jungle')


Best Video (supported by

Arctic Monkeys - 'Suck It And See'

Beyonce - 'Countdown'

Hurts - 'Sunday'

Lana Del Rey - 'Video Games'

Tyler, The Creator - 'Yonkers'

(Last year's winner: My Chemical Romance – 'Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)'.


Best TV Show

'Dr Who'

'Fresh Meat'


'Never Mind The Buzzcocks'

'This Is England '88'

(Last year's winner: Skins)


Best Festival



Reading & Leeds

T In The Park

V Festival

(Last year's winner: Glastonbury)


Best Film

'Black Swan'


'Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2'

'The Inbetweeners Movie'


(Last year's winner: Inception)


Best Music Film

'Back And Forth' - Foo Fighters

'Living In The Material World' - George Harrison

'Talihina Sky' - Kings Of Leon

'There Are No Innocent Bystanders' - The Libertines

'Upside Down - The Creation Records Story'

(New award)


Greatest Music Moment Of The Year

Brian May joins My Chemical Romance onstage at Reading Festival

Kasabian see in 2012 with their epic London O2 Arena show

Noel Gallagher launches his solo career with press conference

Pulp steal the show at Glastonbury with secret set

The Stone Roses reunite

(New award)


Best Re-issue

Manic Street Preachers - 'National Treasures'

Nirvana - 'Nevermind'

Primal Scream - 'Screamadelica'

The Rolling Stones - 'Some Girls'

The Smiths - 'Complete Re-issues'

(New award)


Best Book

Jared Leto - 'Notes From The Outernet'

Jarvis Cocker - 'Mother, Brother, Lover: Selected Lyrics'

Malcolm X - 'A Life Of Reinvention'

Noel Fielding - 'The Scribblings Of A Madcap Shambleton'

Shaun Ryder - 'Twisting My Melon'

(Last year's winner: John Lydon – Mr Rotten's Scrapbook)


Hero Of The Year

Alex Turner

Dave Grohl

Matt Bellamy

Noel Fielding

Noel Gallagher

(Last year's winner: Lady Gaga)


Villain Of The Year

David Cameron

Justin Bieber

Lady Gaga

Liam Gallagher

Nick Clegg

(Last year's winner: David Cameron)


Worst Album

Coldplay - 'Mylo Xyloto'

Justin Bieber - 'Under The Mistletoe'

Lady Gaga - 'Born This Way'

One Direction - 'Up All Night'

Viva Brother - 'Famous First Words'

(Last year's winner: Justin Bieber – 'My World')


Worst Band

Beady Eye



One Direction

Viva Brother

(Last year's winner: Jonas Brothers)


Best Album Artwork

Arctic Monkeys - 'Suck It And See'

Bombay Bicycle Club - 'A Different Kind Of Fix'

Bjork - 'Biophilia'

Friendly Fires - 'Pala'

Jay-Z and Kanye West - 'Watch The Throne'

(Last year's winner: Klaxons – 'Surfing The Void')



Best Band Blog Or Twitter





(New award)


Best Small Festival

Field Day

Hop Farm

Kendal Calling



(Last year's winner: RockNess)


Most Dedicated Fans

30 Seconds To Mars

Arctic Monkeys



My Chemical Romance

(New award)


Hottest Male

Andy Biersack, Black Veil Brides

Dominic Howard, Muse

Gerard Way, My Chemical Romance

Jared Leto, 30 Seconds To Mars

Matt Bellamy, Muse

(Last year's winner: Matt Bellamy)


Hottest Female

Amy Lee, Evanescence

Florence Welch, Florence + The Machine

Hayley Williams, Paramore

Katy Perry

Marina Diamandis, Marina And The Diamonds

(Last year's winner: Alison Mosshart)

Bon Iver - Watch The New Bon Iver Grammy Commercial Teebs, Thundercat, TOKiMONSTA Download: Brainfeeder Sampler With Thundercat, Teebs, TOKiMONSTA
Arctic Monkeys
Lana Del Rey
Odd Future
The Horrors

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments