MGMT and Vivian Girls Feature on David Bowie Tribute Album


    The War Child group has managed to bring together some spectacular lineups for its charity projects in the past, and they’ve pulled off a similar trick for a new David Bowie tribute album. A broad range of artists, including Vivian Girls, MGMT, Duran Duran and A Place to Bury Strangers, all feature.


    The record will be titled Repetition – A Tribute to David Bowie and is scheduled for release on Sept. 6 as a two-disc CD, double album, and download. Despite the long gap between now and the release date, pre orders can be made via this website, with all proceeds going to help children in war-torn countries.


    Full track listing for Repetition:


    Disc 1:

    01. Exitmusic: “Space Oddity”

    02. Duran Duran: “Boys Keep Swinging”

    03. Megapuss (Devendra Banhart): “Sound + Vision” (en espanol)

    04. Warpaint: “Ashes to Ashes”

    05. Charlift: “Always Crashing in the Same Car”

    06. A Place to Bury Strangers: “Suffragette City”

    07. All Leather: “Fame”

    08. We Are The World: “Afraid of Americans”

    09. Carla Bruni: “Absolute Beginners”

    10. VOICEsVOICEs: “Heroes”

    11. Corridor: “Be My Wife”

    12. Vivian Girls: “John, I’m Only Dancing”

    13. Lights: “World Falls Down”

    14. Keren Ann: “Life on Mars”

    15. Genuflex: “Soul Love”

    16. Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes: “Memory of a Free Festival”


    Disc 2:

    01. MGMT – “TVC 15″

    02. Aska & Bobby Evans (feat. Moon & Moon): “African Night Flight”

    03. Tearist: “Repetition”

    04. The Polyamorous Affair: “Theme From Cat People”

    05. Halloween Swim Team: “Look Back in Anger”

    06. Jessica 6: “I’m Deranged”

    07. Rainbow Arabia: “Quicksand”

    08. Swahili Blonde (feat. John Frusciante): “Red Money”

    09. Aquaserge: “The Superman”

    10. Sister Crayon: “The Bewlay Brothers”

    11. Lewis & Clarke: “Changes”

    12. Mechanical Bride: “Sound + Vision”

    13. Zaza: “It Ain’t Easy”

    14. Ariana Delawari: “Ziggy Stardust”

    15. Mick Karn: “Ashes to Ashes”

    16. Xu Xu Fang: “China Girl”


    [via Consequence of Sound]