Mercury Music Prize Shortlist Announced

    The annual Mercury Music Prize is an award bestowed on the best album of the year by a British artist, as determined by a panel of industry insiders. The event is always a talking point despite the vague way in which the winner is picked out, and this year will be no exception. The shortlist for the prize has just been announced, with Adele, James Blake, Katy B, PJ Harvey and Elbow likely to be among the favorites. The winner won’t be announced until Sept. 6, which gives us plenty of time to chew over the list below.


    Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi

    Elbow – Build A Rocket Boys!

    James Blake – James Blake

    Katy B – On A Mission

    Metronomy – The English Riviera

    PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

    Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy

    Everything Everything – Man Alive

    King Cresote & John Hopkins – Diamond Mine

    Adele – 21

    Ghost Poet – Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam

    Gwilym Simcock – Good Days at Schloss Elmau