Mars Volta album in January following New Year’s Eve show

    The Mars Volta’s new album The Bedlam in Goliath is due January 29, which will be preceded by a New Year’s Eve show in San Francisco at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. Costumes required. No, really. Required. The band promises “una serata con amici e sorprese presentata in un modo straordinaro.” (Translation: an evening with friends and surprises presented in an extraordinary manner.)
    The album, which was produced by band co-founder Omar Rodriguez Lopez, features collaborations with Chili Pepper guitarist John Frusciante. Rodriguez and partner Cedric Bixler Zavala will be joined by Marcel Rodriguez Lopez, Adrian Terrazas Gonzales, Pablo Hinojos-Gonzales, Isaiah Ikey Owens, Juan Alderete de la Pena and new drummer Thomas Pridgen.
    In addition, a “webisode” set to album track “Wax Simulacra” is now online here and further episodes may surface before the album release.
    Here’s the tracklist and break out your Oxford English Dictionary:
    1. Aberinkula
    2. Metatron
    3. Ilyena
    4. Wax Simulacra
    5. Goliath
    6. Tourniquet Man
    7. Cavalettas
    8. Agadez
    9. Askepios
    10. Ouroboros
    11. Soothsayer
    12. Conjugal Burns