Mars Volta Announce ‘Noctourniquet’ For March Release

    After reporting last week that the Mars Volta were indeed prepping a new album, it’s been revealed today that we’ll be hearing the prog-punk band’s latest project sooner than some of us might have expected. The album, Noctourniquet, is due out March 27 via Warner Bros. It serves as their first release since 2009’s Octahedron.

    A press release states that Cedric Bixler-Zavala’s lyrics are, again, narrative-based. Although, this time they’re inspired by ’80s U.K. rock band the Godfathers, Superman nemesis Solomon Grundy, and the Greek myth of Hyacinthus.

    In addition, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez produced the 13-track album, which is said to “[explore] musical territories previously uncharted in the duo’s 20 or so years of creating music together.” Hmm, yeah, I think we just need to hear a preview of Noctourniquet already.

    Noctourniquet Track list:

    1. The Whip Hand
    2. Aegis
    3. Dyslexicion
    4. Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound
    5. The Malkin Jewel
    6. Lapochka
    7. In Absentia
    8. Imago
    9. Molochwalker
    10. Trinkets Pale of Moon
    11. Vedamalady
    12. Noctourniquet
    13. Zed and Two Naughts