Marianne Faithful sings with Cat Power, Rufus Wainwright, Antony, Nick Cave, and Jarvis Cocker on new album

    On her new cover album, legend Marianne Faithfull’s distinctive voice is going to take up two discs and be joined by an insane list of additional distinguished singers.

    Easy Come, Easy Go, Faithfull’s 22nd album, will see release January 22nd on UMTV, and feature guest vocals from the likes of Cat Power, Rufus Wainwright, Antony, Nick Cave, Jarvis Cocker, Keith Richards, and Kate and Anna McGarrigle. The band featured on the album is made up of Marc Ribot, Greg Cohen, Rob Burger, Barry Reynolds, and Jim White.


    The covers selected by Faithfull include tracks from The Decemberists, Neko Case, Dolly Parton, and Smokey Robinson and the Miracles. Voices like Colin Meloy’s and Faithfull’s are both squarely outside of convention, but it will be interesting to see what she does with vocals like Neko Case’s and Smokey Robinson’s.