M. Ward Announces New Solo Album, ‘A Wasteland Companion’

    It’s been three years since M. Ward last issued an album bearing just his own name: 2009’s Hold Time. He’s been busy though in the meantime, doing a couple albums with She & Him, and a record with Monsters of Folk.

    That changes this year though: On April 10, Merge issues A Wasteland Companion, Ward’s new solo album. The album features collaborations with Zooey Deschanel, Mike Mogis, Steve Shelley of Sonic Youth, Howe Gelb of Giant Sand, and John Parish. Here’s the track list:

    1. Clean Slate (For Alex & El Goodo)
    2. Primitive Girl
    3. Me and My Shadow
    4. Sweetheart
    5. I Get Ideas
    6. The First Time I Ran Away
    7. A Wasteland Companion
    8. Watch the Show
    9. There’s a Key
    10. Crawl After You
    11. Wild Goose
    12. Pure Joy