M. Ward And Billy Bragg Feature On Joanna Newsom Tribute Album

    She may not be on the Simpsons any time soon, but tribute is about to be paid to Joanna Newsom in a different way. A 22-track album titled Versions of Joanna has been assembled, which will feature covers of her tracks from artists including Billy Bragg, M. Ward, and Owen Pallett.


    Ward has already been covering Newsom’s “Sadie,” which you can hear a live version of below, and Bragg’s cover of “On a Good Day” is also available online in this video clip. All proceeds for the album will go to Oxfam, and Versions of Joanna is set for release at some point in December.


    The track listing for the record looks like this:


    01 Francesco Santocono: “‘81”

    02 A Voice Heard on Baer Mountain: “Autumn”

    03 Sarah Katheryn: “Baby Birch”

    04 Joel Cathey: “Book of Right-On”

    05 Guy Buttery: “Book of Right-On” (instrumental)

    06 Josh Mann: “Bridges & Balloons”

    07 Chris Leeds: “Clam, Crab, Cockle, Cowrie”

    08 Ian Cooke: “Colleen”

    09 This Is Deer Country: “Easy”

    10 Doublewuzzy: “Flying a Kite”

    11 Rosa Hinksman: “In California”

    12 White Elephant Gift Exchange: “Inflammatory Writ”

    13 Ian Cooke: “Monkey & Bear”

    14 Billy Bragg: “On a Good Day”

    15 Kristina Forrer: “On a Good Day”

    16 Owen Pallett: “Peach, Plum, Pear”

    17 M. Ward: “Sadie”

    18 Ben Sollee: “Sawdust & Diamonds”

    19 David Miele: “Soft as Chalk”

    20 The Moscow Coup Attempt: “Sprout and the Bean”

    21 Melissa Stylianou: “Swansea”

    22 Jennifer Schmitt: “This Side of the Blue”



    [via 24Bit]