Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn And John, Miike Snow Launch Record Label: Ingrid

    A slew of like-minded Swedish musical acts have officially teamed up to create their own record label. It’s called Ingrid and it’s the result of work by Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn and John, Miike Snow, Teddybears, and others. All of these acts will maintain their current label deals while also releasing projects through Ingrid. You can read a press release on the label and watch one of their introductory videos below. [P4K]

    Ingrid was created over numerous cups of pitch black coffee at Mellqvist’s in Stockholm: a place where tall men, homecoming stars, sailor boys, toddlers, seekers, and women so beautiful it hurts, come together to discuss the indifferences of who you are and what you ought to be…

    Beyond complaints of harsh winters and lack of a real good Mexican joint, other topics started to swirl around the tables. Isn’t there more to life than world tours, indie cred and empty pockets? Couldn’t we be creating straight from the heart right to the people without any middle hands? Is it not 2012?

    In a heartbeat, Ingrid was created. Consisting of members such as: Miike Snow, Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn and John, Coco Morier, Jocke Åhlund, Johanna Beckman, Jonas Torvestig, and Tomas Nordmark, Ingrid plans to offer a home for the new guard of musicians and artists. The opportunity for creation, collaboration, and compilation sonically and visually, Ingrid will provide in an unadulterated space.