Loney Dear Releasing New Album, ‘Hall Music,’ In October

    Following his U.S. tour in support of 2009’s Dear John, Swedish singer-songwriter Emil Svanangen, aka Loney Dear, returned to his homeland to perform a series of gigs with an orchestra. It was a fitting pairing given the beauty of his music and one that inspired him to actually record an album with an orchestral approach, something he had never done before.


    The result of those efforts is Hall Music, Svanangen’s sixth album as Loney Dear. According to a press release, the 11-track album is about 30 minutes long and features the Swede exploring sounds that are “orchestral and synthesized; organic and invented.” It will be interesting to hear just what this means for future Loney Dear releases and whether Svanangen will stick with this more grandiose style.


    Hall Music drops Oct. 4 on Polyvinyl. You can hear the first single here after entering your e-mail address. View the track listing below.


    01 Name
    02 My heart
    03 Loney Blues
    04 Calm down
    05 Maria, is that you
    06 D major
    07 Largo
    08 Young hearts
    09 Durmoll
    10 I dreamed about you
    11 What have I become?