News ·

Listen: The Governors Ball Music Festival Mixtape (Prefix Premiere)

After a successful initial run, New York's Governors Ball Music Festival has expanded its vision in size, scope and locale. Originally a single-day event, the fest will enter its second year now covering two days of music--June 23-24--and has moved its home base from Governor's Island to Randall's Island. The lineup has also grown considerably, and acts as varied as Fiona Apple, Major Lazer and Built To Spill will all grace the Gov Ball stage.

This year's biggest draw, though, is that there won't be any overlapping sets. So while the performers are playing the same venue, they will all get their one-on-one time with the audience. It'll be, to some extent, like a mixtape.

Coincidentally, the Gov Ball organizers have put together a nice mix of 25 tracks by artists playing the festival. It should spark your interest if you hate the idea of having to compromise who you want to see perform at a big show. The tape is lighthearted but thoughtfully laid out, and its most notable transition in mood comes when Apple's hit "Criminal" turns into Atmosphere's "You." Speaking of, you can check it out below.


Governors Ball Music Festival Mixtape Track list:


1. Cellphone's Dead - Beck 

2. Little Secrets - Passion Pit 

3. Float On - Modest Mouse 

4. Barbra Streisand - Duck Sauce 

5. Remember Me As a Time of Day - Explosions in the Sky 

6. Don't Turn the Lights On - Chromeo 

7. Criminal - Fiona Apple 

8. You - Atmosphere 

9. Lover - Devendra Banhart 

10. Goin Against Your Mind - Built to Spill 

11. Pon de Floor- Major Lazer 

12. Aberdeen - Cage the Elephant 

13. L.E.S. Artistes - Santigold 

14. Go Outside - Cults 

15. Don't Move - Phantogram 

16. High Life - Big Gigantic 

17. Hannah - Freelance Whales 

18. Atx - Alberta Cross 

19. Don't Fuck With My Money - Penguin Prison 

20. Anna Sun - Walk the Moon 

21. Hollywood - Art Vs. Science 

22. No Duh - K.Flay 

23. Beats Work - Nobody Beats the Drum 

24. Cheers to the Years- Turf War 

25. Endless Summer - The Jezabels


Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Tupac - Tupac Hologram To Go On Tour, Allegedly M.I.A. Hear M.I.A.'s Music For Julian Assange's TV Show
Governors Ball

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments