Lauryn Hill, Nas, Erykah Badu And Cypress Hill Headlining Rock The Bells 2011

    Like the festival has in its previous years, Rock the Bells 2011 is embracing the concept of artists performing their classic albums in full. And while some fans might be growing tired of this move, they won’t be complaining when they learn just which classic albums are being performed.


    We’re talking Lauryn Hill’s The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, Nas’ Illmatic, Raekwon and Ghostface’s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Mobb Deep’s The Infamous, and GZA’s Liquid Swords. Oh, and Mos Def and Talib Kweli will be doing their entire Black Star album, too. Whew, that’s a lot of classics for just one festival and I haven’t even listed them all. The rest of the lineup is just as wild and features the likes of Erykah Badu, Blu and Exile, Slaughterhouse, Black Moon, Freddie Gibbs, Roc Marciano, and Souls of Mischief.


    View the full lineup and dates below, though be sure to check out the Rock the Bells website for city-specific lineups. Presale tickets will be available June 3 while general public tickets go on sale June 4.


    Tour dates:


    08.20 San Bernardino, CA: San Manuel Amphitheater
    08.27 Mountain View, CA: Shoreline Amphitheatre
    09.03 New York, NY: Governor’s Island
    09.10 Boston, MA


    Rock The Bells 2011 lineup:


    Ms. Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill +
    Nas – Illmatic +
    Cypress Hill – Black Sunday +
    Erykah Badu*
    Mos Def & Talib Kweli Are Black Star +
    Raekwon & Ghostface – Only Built for Cuban Linx +
    Mobb Deep – The Infamous +
    The GZA – Liquid Swords +
    Immortal Technique
    Mac Miller*
    Souls of Mischief – 93 ‘til Infinity +
    Black Moon
    Childish Gambino
    Blu & Exile
    Random Axe*
    Masta Killah – No Said Date +
    Freddie Gibbs
    Roc Marciano
    + notes full-album sets
    * notes performance on select dates only