The Killers Set To Release Their Fifth Studio Album ‘Wonderful Wonderful’

    Watch the video for lead single "The Man"

    Photo: Danny Larson

    The Killers have provided details about their forthcoming new album, Wonderful Wonderful, due in September.

    The LP features lead single “The Man” as well as “Run For Cover,” which the Las Vegas band has been playing live.

    It’s been five years since The Killers released Battle Born, their previous LP. Frontman Brandon Flowers spent the interim working on a solo album, putting out the 80s-synth-rock-indebted The Desired Effect.

    For Wonderful Wonderful, the band worked with mega-producer Jacknife Lee, whose resume includes work with R.E.M., Taylor Swift, and U2.

    Of Lee, Flowers says, “We have a lot of similar influences, but he’s also really aware of what’s happening now. He’s constantly buying records and applying things to our music that we haven’t done before.”

    The Killers also hired longtime collaborator and Grammy winner Stuart Price to help produce the album.

    An album that became important to the process of making Wonderful Wonderful is The Killers’ own Sam’s Town, their second LP from 2006.

    Last year, during a tour for the 10th anniversary of Sam’s Town, something dawned on Flowers.

    “Playing those gigs, I realized how cohesive an idea [Sam’s Town] was,” Flowers says. “That reminded us that we really want to make a record here, not just slap a bunch of songs together… I think we’ve done it again on this album. It’s the closest thing we’ve done to Sam’s Town.”

    Fans of the band may discover a new wrinkle in The Killers’ sound. In a conversation with Q Magazine, Flowers says, “There are moments that feel heavier than anything we’ve ever done, not that we’re the heaviest band in the world, but they have a finesse because of our experience. There’s also really beautiful things. Lyrically, it’s really close to home.”

    With the band members all in their mid-30s or early-40s, the themes of Wonderful Wonderful reflect getting older and being in a band together for nearly 15 years.

    “It’s about re-imagining The Killers as men now,” says Flowers. “People with life experiences and blood on their hands, seeing what we look like with callouses and lines around our eyes.”

    Wonderful Wonderful:

    01 Wonderful Wonderful
    02 The Man
    03 Rut
    04 Life to Come
    05 Run for Cover
    06 Tyson vs. Douglas
    07 Some Kind of Love
    08 Out of My Mind
    09 The Calling
    10 Have All the Songs Been Written?

    Watch the video for “The Man,” the muscular disco-infused lead single: