Jay Reatard Documentary Coming To DVD With LP, Book

    Better Than Something, a documentary chronicling the life of the late garage-punk Jay Reatard, made its way through the festival circuit and a limited theater release over the past year, and on Dec. 18  it will be available on DVD via Factory 25. The film features interviews and concert footage, and the DVD also boasts 20 extra minutes of Reatard interviews.

    In addition, fans can get the DVD bundled with an LP and a book. The album features unreleased live cuts of Reatard and his various bands (Lost Sounds, the Reatards, Angry Angles), and 500 copies will come on blood-red vinyl. The book includes photos, an interview with Reatard, and essays by the Black Lips’ Cole Alexander, King Khan, the Adverts’ TV Smith, Lost Sounds’ Alijca Trout, and more. You can order the collection via Factory 25’s site.

    Below, check out a trailer for Better Than Something, a selection from the LP (the Reatards’ “No One Stands Me,”live at Gonerfest 2005), and the LP’s track list. [P4K]


    Better Than Something: Jay Reatard Trailer from factory twenty five on Vimeo.

    Track list:

    01 Jay Reatard: “Such a Shame” (TV Rennes 2008)
    02 The Reatards: “Bummer Bitch” (Gonerfest 2005)
    03 The Reatards: “No One Stands Me” (Gonerfest 2005)
    04 Lost Sounds: “I Get Nervous” (VPRO 2005)
    05 Lost Sounds: “Tyrants Head” (VPRO 2005)
    06 Angry Angles: “You Call It Love” (Gonerfest 2005)
    07 Jay Reatard: “Let It All Go” (SXSW 2007)
    08 Lost Sounds: “Better Than Somethings” (1998)
    09 Jay Reatard: “Fading All Away” (Studio Brussel 2009)
    10 Jay Reatard: “Death Is Forming” (Crystal Ballroom 2008)
    11 Jay Reatard: “Not a Substitute” (Stuy Town NYC 2009)
    12 Jay Reatard: “Waiting for Something” (Walter’s 2009)
    13 Jay Reatard: “Nightmares” (Studio Brussel 2009)
    14 Jay Reatard: “Let It All Go” (France 2008)