Interpol’s Paul Banks Releasing Solo EP, Covers J Dilla

    We knew Interpol singer Paul Banks had more solo work coming this year, and now Matador has offered further details on the project. Banks is returning to the Julian Plenti name that he used for his first solo project back in 2009, and will release an EP titled Julian Plenti Lives… on June 12.

    A full-length, as-yet untitled Julian Plenti album will emerge in the fall, with the Lives EP plugging the gap between now and then. It will be limited to 2,3000 vinyl copies and 1,500 CDs, plus the obligatory download. Perhaps the most interesting thing about this are the covers Banks has chosen to include—versions of tracks by J Dilla, Frank Sinatra and Harold Faltermeyer will all feature. Head over here to pre-order a copy.

    Julian Plenti Lives… track listing: 

    1. Perimeter Deactivated
    2. Summertime Is Coming
    3. Mythsysizer
    4. I’m a Fool to Want You
    5. Cavern Worship