Insane Clown Posse’s Last (Physical) Album

    On August 14, Insane Clown Posse will release The Mighty Pop!, an album that the group is calling “the last ode to the physical CD.” Consequently, they’re releasing three different CD versions, with three insanely-different bonus discs.

    First up, you’ve got the “Red Pop” version, which features soon-to-be-classic covers of songs by Christina Aguilera, Michael Jackson, Tears For Fears, and Yo Gabba Gabba. Then comes “Black Pop,” which sports a single 67-minute track that features a “non-stop rap flow.” Finally comes “White Pop,” a reimagining of The Mighty Pop! with Fred Durst, Ice Cube, Kreayshawn, Color Me Badd, and the Geto Boys covering the ICP songs. Gotta collect ’em all.

    “The way we look at it, this is the last of the CD,” Violent J opines. “It’s almost gone now, and the next time we put an album out it may be non-existent…So it’s almost like a wave goodbye to the art of the fresh-popped cellophane and huffing that smell of a new CD.”

    They might not be huffing something with their surprisingly-savvy new business plan. Instead of touring behind the album(s), the duo will offer pay-per-view webcasts of their larger events, such as the Gathering of the Juggalos and their Halloween concert in Detroit. Insane Clown Posse: leaders of tomorrow’s music industry? [Billboard]