Hype Williams’ Dean Blunt And Inga Copeland Prep ‘Black Is Beautiful’

    Inga Copeland and Dean Blunt, both members of under-the-radar production group Hype Williams, are getting set to release an upcoming album called Black is Beautiful. See the cover art above. We first reported on the release when Blunt dropped a single-track, 30-minute mix called The Narcissist II a little over a week ago. Black is Beautiful will be released through Hyperdub on April 16 in the UK and a day later in the States. Outside of that, we don’t know much about the work. And according to a press statement, there is a rather odd backstory. After you get confused, check out the album’s revealing track list below. [P4K]

    the album was recorded during a tremulous period for the two: Inga Copeland’s Arsenal girls tryouts, Dean’s ‘Waschbärgate’ trial (he was implicated in being behind a one night robbing spree across 16 taxidermists based in London and the South East, allegedly only for raccoons) and his subsequent conversion to Nation of Islam upon being acquitted.

    Black is Beautiful track list:

    01) Venice Dreamway
    02) 2
    03) 3
    04) 4
    05) 5
    06) 6
    07) 7
    08) 8
    09) 9
    10) 10
    11) 11
    12) 12
    13) 13
    14) 14
    15) 15