Gaslight Anthem Annouce New Album, ‘Get Hurt’

    The Gaslight Anthem have announced that they will be releasing their fifth full length album this summer, Get Hurt. The record is due out on August 19, and with the news came a promise: “Get ready for some things you’ve never heard this band do,” said a statement on the bands website

    The band spent six and half weeks recording the new album at Blackbird Studio in Nashville, where such artists as Pearl Jam, The White Stripes, Bruce Springsteen and Neil Young have also recorded. In an interview with Rolling Stone, Gaslight Anthems lead singer, Brian Fallon, once again reiterated that the process was “completely different than anything we had ever done before.” He continued by saying that “for this record, I went back and studied any band that had changed.”

    Though there should be some differences on the album, some things will always stay the same. “I’ll probably continue to write about heartbreak forever,” explained Fallon. “I can’t really see myself writing about politics because I’m not really into it, and one of the worst things you can do is write about things you’re not into.” 

    The album will be produced by Mike Crossey, who has worked with the likes of The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys, Foals and Ben Howard. Along with the announcement of the upcoming album also came the track list and a teaser video, which can both be seen below.

    Get Hurt:

    1. Stay Vicious

    2. 1,000 Years

    3. Get Hurt

    4. Stray Paper

    5. Helter Skeleton

    6. Underneath The Ground

    7. Rollin’ And Tumblin’

    8. Red Violins

    9. Selected Poems

    10. Ain’t That A Shame

    11. Break Your Heart