Foals To Release New Mix Album In July

    This July, Oxford math-rockers Foals will release a mix album entitled Foals Tapes on K7. Currently working on their third studio album, Foals will contribute to the ‘Tapes’ series by releasing a new compilation on July 2. Previous collaborators to the series include The Big Pink and The Rapture.

    Compiled by Foals’ Ed Congreave, the track list was selected with the intent of “reflecting the taste of the whole band.” He added, “I picked music from the last five years of shared listening. We used to tour in an ex-Royal Mail delivery van and we drove ourselves to shows listening to each others’ playlists on a ropey old cassette player.” 

    On those bumpy rides, Congreave noted that the band listened to everything from “nineties math rock, Greek folk music, Kompakt compilations, early Metronomy demos and endless Arthur Russell.”

    Unsurprisingly, the tracks on the mix album are just as wildly diverse, from Bibio remixes alongside Nicolas Jaar, Caribou and Blood Orange. “Sometimes infuriatingly eclectic,” Congreave quipped. “But it stretched our minds wide open.” 

    Congreave plans to embark on a DJ tour this summer, with dates in London, Glasgow and Manchester currently in the works.


    The track list for Foals Tapes is as follows:

    Nicolas Jaar — “Variations”

    Clark — “Ted” (Bibio Remix)

    Dorian Concept — “Tropical Hands”

    Condry Ziqubu — “Confusion (Ma Afrika)”

    The Invisible — “London Girl”

    JR Seaton — “Way Savvy” (Gatto Fritto Remix)

    Blood Orange — “Dinner”

    Tanner Ross — “B Side”

    Teengirl Fantasy — “Cheaters” (John Talabot’s Classic Vocal Refix)

    Chateau Flight feat Marie Daulne — “Superflight” (Maurice Fulton Remix)

    In Flagranti — “Effective Placebo Affect”

    Tony Allen — “Kilode” (Carl Craig Remix)

    Art Department feat Soul Clap & Osunlade — “We Call Love”

    Cerrone — “Give Me Love” (Frankie Knuckles Remix)

    Arnold Jarvis — “Take Some Time Out”

    Oni Ayhun — “OAR003-B”

    Sepalcure — “Every Day Of My Life” (Jimmy Edgar Remix)

    Marshall Jefferson vs. Noosa Heads — “Mushrooms” (Justin Martin Remix)

    Julio Bashmore — “Battle For Middle You” (Maurice Donovan Dub)

    Caribou — “Sun” (Midland Edit)

    Konono No1 — “Paradiso”

    Gospel Comforters — “Yes God Is Real?”