News ·

Florence, Arctic Monkeys, The Horrors Among NME Award Winners

The NME is celebrating its 60th year in publication this year, but last night in London there was some other business to attend to—the annual NME Awards. It looks to have been an event more notable for the performances than the winners, with an unusual collaboration between Florence Welch and The Horrors (on a version of the latter’s “Still Life”) among the highlights.

Both those artists were among the winners, with The Horrors scooping up Best Album for Skying and Florence winning Best Solo Artist (apparently the Machine, whoever they are, don’t qualify her as part of a group). You can check out the awards in full below, and yes we really do live in a world where some people think The Vaccines were the best new group to emerge in 2011. [via NME]

NME Award winners:

Best British Band (supported by Sonos)

Winner: Kasabian

Best International Band (supported by T4)

Winner: Foo Fighters

Best Solo Artist (supported by Rekorderlig)

Winner: Florence + The Machine

Best New Band (supported by Boxfresh)

Winner: The Vaccines

Best Live Band (supported by Carling)

Winner: Arctic Monkeys

Best Album (supported by HMV)

Winner: The Horrors - 'Skying'

Best Track (supported by Fender)

Winner: Florence + The Machine - 'Shake It Out'

Dancefloor Anthem (supported by NME Radio)

Winner: Katy B - 'Broken Record'

Best Video (supported by

Winner: Hurts - 'Sunday'

Best TV Show

Winner: 'Fresh Meat' 

Best Festival

Winner: Glastonbury

Best Film

Winner: 'Submarine'

Best Music Film

Winner: 'Back And Forth' - Foo Fighters

Greatest Music Moment Of The Year

Winner: The Stone Roses reunite

Best Reissue

Winner: The Smiths - 'Complete Reissues'

Best Book

Winner: Noel Fielding - 'The Scribblings Of A Madcap Shambleton' 

Hero Of The Year

Winner: Matt Bellamy

Villain Of The Year

Winner: Justin Bieber

Worst Album

Winner: Justin Bieber - 'Under The Mistletoe'

Worst Band

Winner: One Direction

Best Album Artwork

Winner: Friendly Fires - 'Pala'

Best Band Blog Or Twitter

Winner: @LadyGaga

Best Small Festival

Winner: RockNess

Most Dedicated Fans

Winner: Muse 

Hottest Male

Winner: Jared Leto, 30 Seconds To Mars

Hottest Female

Winner: Hayley Williams, Paramore

- Graphic: Where Does SXSW 2012's Lineup Hail From? Bruce Springsteen, John Legend, The Roots Watch John Legend & The Roots Cover Bruce Springsteen Live On Fallon
Arctic Monkeys
Florence + The Machine
The Horrors
The Vaccines

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments