Disclosure Working On Mary J. Blige Album

    A cavalcade of interesting collaborators have been announced for Mary J. Blige’s upcoming thirteenth album, The London Sessions, including Sam Smith, Naughty Boy, and London-based electro-house producers Disclosure.

    In a new interview with The Guardian, Blige confirmed the collaborations and discussed the influence of the London music scene on the new album:

    Our idea was to become part of London, to really embrace the culture – to really live in it… The music is free over here the way it used to be in the States. Artists are just free to do what they love. Listening to the radio you can hear the freedom. The music is living and breathing.

    The interview only confirms one track on the album being written and produced by Disclosure, a song called “Right Now” (though a tweet from the duo mention that they are potentially working on more). Howard Lawrence, one half of the group, talked about the writing of that particular song:

    The track “Right Now” started with some chords I made on Jimmy Napes’s piano. We took that and gave it a Disclosurey feel with some drums that Guy [his brother] made. Mary leaves the instrumental side to us and gets much more involved when it comes to writing vocals. So she puts an idea in, then we all have a dog-fight until someone comes up with something that they agree on. It’s a really good way of working, because no one is afraid to just pitch ideas.

    Disclosure and Blige collaborated earlier this year on an interesting new version of the duo’s song “F For You” from their debut album Settle. Listen to the track here to see what may be in store for the collaboration.

    Mary J. Blige: The London Sessions hits in November via Capitol Records.