Dirty Projectors Releasing New Album: ‘Bitte Orca’

    Dave Longstreth’s Dirty Projectors are the closest we’ll get to a 21st century equivalent to Talking Heads, so it’s not surprising to learn that the band members have been collaborating with David Byrne during their brief between-album hiatus. Dirty Projectors have also signed a deal with Domino Records and will release their first album for the label, titled Bitte Orca, on June 9.

    Preceding the album’s release will be a single, “Stillness is the Move,” which will be released on 12-inch single and download on April 21. The band also has a brief tour coming up, which includes a number of dates at the annual SXSW festival, and is already proposing a quickie follow up to Bitte Orca, which is likely to be released on Dirty Projectors’ former label, Dead Oceans. [Pitchfork]

    Bitte Orca track list:

    1. Cannibal Resource
    2. Temecula Sunrise
    3. The Bride
    4. Stillness Is the Move
    5. Two Doves
    6. Useful Chamber
    7. No Intention
    8. Remade Horizon
    9. Fluorescent Half Dome

    Tour Dates:

    • 02.27 Bennington, VT: Bennington College Student Center
    • 02.28 Haverford, PA: Lunt Basement
    • 03-06 Minneapolis, MN: Walker Art Center
    • 03.07 Grinnell, IA: Grinnell College Gardner Lounge
    • 03.19 Austin, TX: The Parish
    • 03.19 Austin, TX: Emo’s Annex 
    • 03.20 Austin, TX: Emo’s Jr.
    • 03.21 Austin, TX: SXSW TBA

    Photo Credit: Nina Mouritzen