Dexys Midnight Runners Release Details Of New LP

    We’ve known for a while that a new Dexys Midnight Runners album was coming in 2012—the first full-length release from the band in 26 years. Now come further details of that record, with the band just going under the name Dexys, and One Day I’m Going To Soar set for release on June 4.

    A couple of live dates have been announced to support the album, as well as the track listing (see below for those). Singer Kevin Rowland says: “I got lucky. I couldn’t have made this record five years ago. Or ten years ago. Everything seemed to fall into place.” He also explained the name change, in typically mysterious fashion: “It’s now called Dexys, NOT Dexys Midnight Runners because it’s the same, but it’s also not the same.” Thanks, Kev. 

    Dexys live dates:


    • 05.06 Glasgow, Scotland: Cottiers Theatre
    • 05.08 London, England: Shepherds Bush Empire


    One Day I’m Going To Soar track listing:


    1. Now
    2. Lost
    3. Me
    4. She Got A Wiggle
    5. You
    6. Thinking Of You
    7. I’m Always Going To Love You
    8. Incapable Of Love
    9. Nowhere Is Home
    10. Free
    11. It’s OK John Joe