Devendra Banhart, ‘Mala,’ Due Out March 12, More Details And New Song

    Last month, Devendra Banhart revealed he was making progress towards the completion of his upcoming release, Mala, due out sometime during Spring 2013. Details were scarce, though his label, Nonesuch Records, promised more information would be coming “shortly.” Well, they weren’t lying; today, via Nonesuch’s website, the full tracklist for Mala is posted, along with album artwork (painted by Banhart himself), and an official release date: March 12, 2013.

    Mala, an Eastern European pet name, was recorded in Los Angeles with longtime bandmate/guitarist Noah Georgeson. Displaying a true DIY slant, the duo played most of the featured instruments themselves, and recorded the album using borrowed equipment and a vintage Tascam recorder they picked up at a pawn shop. “A lot of early hip-hop had been made on [the Tascam],” Banhart explained. “And knowing my songs are not hip-hop whatsoever, we thought it would be interesting to see how these kinds of songs would sound on equipment that was used to record our favorite rap. Let’s see how this technology would work for us.”

    You can stream a song from the album, “Für Hildegard von Bingen,” over at Pitchfork. Pre-order Mala and receive a free digital download of the track.

    Mala tracklisting:

    01. Golden Girls
    02. Daniel
    03. Für Hildegard von Bingen
    04. Never Seen Such Good Things
    05. Mi Negrita
    06. Your Fine Petting Duck
    07. The Ballad of Keenan Milton
    08. A Gain
    09. Won’t You Come Over
    10. Cristobal Risquez
    11. Hatchet Wound
    12. Mala
    13. Won’t You Come Home
    14. Taurobolium