David Bowie Releases Video From First Album In 10 Years – ‘The Next Day’

    Happy birthday, you fabulous alien. In celebration of the 66th anniversary of your time spent on this earth, I see you’ve seen fit to give us a little new music–and the promise of a lot more.

    As a birthday present of sorts, David Bowie has just announced his first record in a decade. The Next Day, the followup to 2003’s Reality, will be out March 12 via Columbia Records. The first single “Where Are We Now?” carries an accompanying video by installation artist Tony Oursler featuring a creepy conjoined-twin Bowie doll singing to his other head. The imagery serves as a retrospective of Bowie’s time living in Berlin in the late ’70s; according to his website, “He is seen looking in on footage of the auto repair shop beneath the apartment he lived in along with stark images of the city at the time and a lyric constantly raising the question Where Are We Now?”

    The new record can already be pre-ordered from Bowie’s website, and “Where Are We Now?” is available as a download from iTunes. 

    Despite the big news, Bowie has no plans to tour or even interview. According to the Guardian, a spokesman has said that the star only “writes and performs what he wants when he wants.” Hey, fair enough.

    Watch the video for the brand new slow-burning ballad below.


    The Next Day track list:

    1. The Next Day
    2. Dirty Boys
    3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
    4. Love is Lost
    5. Where Are We Now?
    6. Valentine’s Day
    7. If You Can See Me
    8. I’d Rather Be High
    9. Boss of Me
    10. Dancing Out in Space
    11. How Does the Grass Grow?
    12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
    13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
    14. Heat

    Bonus tracks:
    15. So She
    16. I’ll Take You There
    17. Plan