Damon Albarn Releasing ‘Dr Dee’ Album In May

    Damon Albarn is about to release an LP by his Rocket Juice & the Moon supergroup at the end of this month, but the Blur singer also has another project in the works. We previously reported on Albarn’s BBC 6 Music performance, where he played tracks from his opera, Dr Dee. Now that material is being released as an album, set to be issued by Virgin on May 8.

    It’s difficult to keep up with everything Albarn is involved with at present, with rumors swirling around the Blur reunion and the various other projects he is undertaking. But we do know that Dr Dee will contain 18 tracks recorded with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, all inspired by the life of John Dee, mathematician, polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I.

    The album will be released on vinyl, CD and digital formats, check out the track listing and a trailer for it below.

    1. The Golden Dawn
    2. Apple Carts
    3. Oh Spirit Animate Us
    4. The Moon Exalted
    5. A Man of England
    6. Saturn
    7. Coronation
    8. The Marvelous Dream
    9. A Prayer
    10. Edward Kelley
    11. Preparation
    12. 9 point Star
    13. Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
    14. Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away
    15. Moon (Interlude)
    16. Cathedrals
    17. Tree Of Life
    18. The Dancing King