Caribou’s Dan Snaith To Release Album As Daphni

    Dan Snaith is something of a restless artist, releasing music under the names Caribou and Manitoba. And on October 16, he’ll put out the album JIAOLONG (pronounced “jow-long”) as Daphni. It’s his first full-length under that name, though Snaith has used it to release several 12-inches in the past.

    The record comes out via Merge and Snaith’s own label, also called Jiaolong, and he has some very specific (and opinionated) reasons why he’s using the Daphni moniker. He stated this in a press release:

    “I’ve been surprised by the number of transcendent moments that I, sober and in my mid-30s, have had in clubs in the last few years, both as a punter and as a DJ. Against my expectations, there’s some magic in it still. The clichés about the collective consciousness of clubs still seems to hold water in some special cases. Set against the backdrop of bland and functional dance music and the mind-numbing predictability of the EDM barfsplosion currently gripping the corporate ravesters, there is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate. It’s there that I hope Daphni has a place.”

    To rage against this “barfsplosion,” Snaith built his own modular synthesizer and took his cues from the “genuinely surprising” side of the DJ aesthetic. Check out the album’s track list below, and watch a video for first single “Ye Ye.” [P4K]


    01 Yes, I Know
    02 Cos-Ber-Zam – Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
    03 Ye Ye
    04 Light
    05 Pairs
    06 Ahora
    07 Jiao
    08 Springs
    09 Long