Bill Clinton Lists His 20 Favorite Songs

    Have we had a more musical U.S. president in recent time than Bill Clinton? I’d think not, given the fact a big part of his campaign featured him wailing away on his saxophone. As such, the folks at Yahoo! News probably couldn’t have picked a better candidate (no pun) for their “presidential playlist.” They asked Clinton to list his 20 favorite songs, most of which, as expected, fall into the realm of jazz.

    This means you get tunes like Miles Davis’ “My Funny Valentine,” Nina Simone’s “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to be Free,” and John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman’s “My One And Only Love.” Outside of the jazziness, Clinton seems to favor more mellow tunes such as Simon & Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water,” Sarah McLachlan’s “Angel,” and Willie Nelson’s “A Song for You.” Can’t imagine Bill didn’t light up to that last track.

    Head to Yahoo! News for streams of each song. Watch a live performance of “A Song for You” and view Clinton’s playlist below. Photo by Justin Ruckman. [The Daily Swarm]

    • Mickey Magnum: “In The Presence Of Jehovah”
    • Miles Davis: “My Funny Valentine”
    • Nina Simone: “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”
    • John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman: “My One And Only Love”
    • Zoot Sims: “Summertime”
    • Mahalia Jackson: “Take My Hand, Precious Lord”
    • Igor Butman: “Nostalgie”
    • Judy Collins: “Chelsea Morning”
    • David Sanborn: “Harlem Nocturne”
    • Phil Coulter: “The Town I Loved So Well”
    • Van Morrison: “Brown Eyed Girl”
    • Carly Simon: “I Get Along Without You Very Well”
    • Stan Getz with Bahai: “Charlie Byrd”
    • Simon & Garfunkel: “Bridge Over Troubled Water”
    • Sarah McLachlan: “Angel”
    • Elton John: “Philadelphia Freedom”
    • Willie Nelson: “A Song For You”
    • Joan Baez: “Winds Of The Old Days”
    • John Williams: “Concierto de Aranjuez”
    • Art Tatum: “There Will Never Be Another You”
    • The President’s Own U.S. Marine Band: “Crown Imperial”
    • North Texas Wind Symphony: “English Folk Song Suite”