News ·

Belle and Sebastian: BBC Sessions album coming

The bad news: Belle and Sebastian aficionados who've been waiting for a successor to 2006's The Life Pursuit will have to keep waiting, as there is no new studio album on the horizon.


The good news: There is, however, a studio album of another kind on its way. Matador is set to release a collection of the band's BBC recordings (helpfully titled The BBC Sessions) on November 18.


Covering the years 1996-2001, the two-disc set features songs from the band's debut, Tigermilk, through their fourth album, Fold Your Hands Child, You Walk Like A Peasant, on the first disc, and a 2001 live show on the second. For hardcore B&S heads who think they've heard it all, there are also some cover tunes on the second disc, including the Beatles' "Here Comes the Sun" and Thin Lizzy's "The Boys Are Back in Town" (the aforementioned heads will undoubtedly recall that the latter's riff heavily inspired Belle and Sebastian's "I'm a Cuckoo").


Track listing:

Disc One - Radio Sessions:

01 The State I Am In (Mark Radcliffe Session; 07/96)
02 Like Dylan in the Movies (Mark Radcliffe Session; 07/96)
03 Judy and the Dream of Horses (Mark Radcliffe Session; 07/96)
04 The Stars of Track and Field (Mark Radcliffe Session; 07/96)
05 I Could Be Dreaming (Mark Radcliffe session; 12/96; abbreviated version)
06 Seymour Stein (Evening Session; 07/97)
07 Lazy Line Painter Jane (Evening Session; 07/97)
08 Sleep the Clock Around (Evening Session; 07/97)
09 Slow Graffiti (Evening Session; 07/97)
10 Wrong Love (later recorded as "The Wrong Girl") (Evening Session; 07/97)
11 Shoot the Sexual Athlete (John Peel session; 05/01)
12 The Magic of a Kind Word (John Peel session; 05/01)
13 Nothing in the Silence (John Peel session; 05/01)
14 (My Girl's Got) Miraculous Technique (John Peel session; 05/01)

Disc Two - Live in Belfast (12/21/01):

01 Here Comes the Sun
02 There's Too Much Love
03 The Magic of a Kind Word
04 Me and the Major
05 Wandering Alone
06 The Model
07 I'm Waiting for the Man
08 The Boy With the Arab Strap
09 The Wrong Girl
10 Dirty Dream #2
11 The Boys Are Back in Town
12 Legal Man



Giant Sand - Giant Sand @ Blender Theater at Gramercy - Ticket Giveaway Amanda Palmer Amanda tours to support debut solo album
Belle & Sebastian

I'll take that for now,it has most of the stuff I want anyhow.

/site_media/uploads/images/users/mannya/manny3.jpg mannya

a lot of this stuff leaked a long time ago.


Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments