Beck And Robert Smith Contribute To John Martyn Tribute Album

    John Martyn’s Solid Air is one of the great British folk-rock albums of all time, and his death last year brought out a broad swathe of musicians to pay tribute. Now, that good feeling toward Martyn’s career has extended in the shape of an as-yet untitled tribute album.


    Among the names appearing will be Robert Smith from the Cure, Beck, Snow Patrol, Beth Orton, and Devendra Banhart. As you’d expect, there’s a distinctly folky leaning to the artists chosen to participate, but it will be fascinating to hear Beck take on “Stormbringer” from the 1970 album of the same name, and Smith’s version of “Small Hours” from One World.


    The provisional track listing looks like this:


    01 Beck: “Stormbringer”

    02 Snow Patrol: “May You Never”

    03 Robert Smith (of The Cure): “Small Hours”

    04 Blackships (Nick McCabe, Simon Jones of the Verve): “Rope Soul’d or Sapphire”

    05 Beth Orton: “Go Down Easy”

    06 David Gray: “Let The Good Things Come”

    07 Lisa Hannigan: “Couldn’t Love You More”

    08 The Swell Season: “I Don’t Want to Know”

    09 Paolo Nutini: “One World”

    10 Devendra Banhart: “Sweet Little Mystery”

    11 Vetiver: “Go Easy”

    12 Vashti Bunyan: “Head & Heart”

    13 Skye Edwards (Morcheeba): “Solid Air”

    14 Ted Barnes featuring Gavin Clark (of Clayhill & Unkle): “Over The Hill”

    15 The Blind Boys Of Alabama: “Glorious Fool”

    16 Brendan Campbell: “Anna”

    17 Sonia Dada: “Dancing”

    18 Sabrina Dinan: “Certain Surprise”

    19 Oh My God: “John Wayne”

    20 Foley (Miles Davis Bass Player): “Clutches”

    21 Nicholas Barron: “Angeline”

    22 Cheryl Wilson: “You Can Discover”


    [via TwentyFourBit]