Stream some new Be Your Own Pet

    The brash, young punksters in Be Your Own Pet have put four songs from the band’s new album up on BYOP’s MySpace page. The new record, Get Awkward, is slated for a March 1 release on Thurston Moore’s Ecsatic Peace! label. The four songs find the four musicians in BYOP still thrashing away, with lead singer Jemina Pearl’s lyrics taking on the struggle between having to grow up and wanting to hold on to youthful energy. The MySpace page also has the track list for Get Awkward all done up in blocky pastel lettering, as well as a cool new picture of the band with Jemina looking real Roller Girl in skates and knee-high socks.