Animal Collective Nominated for Two Brit Awards

    The annual Brit Awards are set to take place on Feb. 16 at Earl’s Court in London, and the nominations were announced last night (Jan. 18). There are few surprises among the list of artists lined up for the awards, but it’s unlikely anyone was expecting a radical overhaul—the Brit Awards are as safe as the MTV Awards on this side of the Atlantic.


    Nevertheless, Animal Collective’s Merriweather Post Pavilion has been thrown into the fray for Best International Album, meaning Avey Tare, Panda Bear and Geologist will be competing with Black Eyed Peas and Lady Gaga for the first, and possibly last, time in their careers.


    The full list is as follows:


    British Male Solo Artist

    Calvin Harris

    Dizzee Rascal


    Paolo Nutini

    Robbie Williams


    British Female Solo Artist

    Bat For Lashes

    Florence And The Machine

    Leona Lewis

    Lily Allen

    Pixie Lott


    British Breakthrough Act

    Florence And The Machine

    Friendly Fires


    La Roux

    Pixie Lott


    British Group


    Friendly Fires





    British Album

    Dizzee Rascal – ‘Tongue ‘N’ Cheek’

    Florence And The Machine – ‘Lungs’

    Kasabian – ‘West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum’

    Lily Allen – ‘It’s Not Me, It’s You’

    Paolo Nutini – ‘Sunny Side Up’


    British Single

    Alesha Dixon – ‘Breathe Slow’

    Alexandra Burke & Flo Rida – ‘Bad Boys’

    Cheryl Cole – ‘Fight For This Love’

    Joe McElderry – ‘The Climb’

    JLS – ‘Beat Again’

    La Roux – ‘In For The Kill’

    Lily Allen – ‘The Fear’

    Pixie Lott – ‘Mama Do’

    Taio Cruz – ‘Break Your Heart’

    Tinchy Stryder & N-Dubz – ‘Number One’


    International Male Solo Artist

    Bruce Springsteen



    Michael Buble

    Seasick Steve


    International Female Solo Artist

    Lady GaGa


    Norah Jones




    International Breakthrough Act

    Animal Collective

    Daniel Merriweather

    Empire Of The Sun

    Lady GaGa

    Taylor Swift


    International Album

    Animal Collective – ‘Merriweather Post Pavilion’

    Black Eyed Peas – ‘The E.N.D.’

    Empire Of The Sun – ‘Walking On A Dream’

    Jay-Z – ‘The Blueprint Three’

    Lady GaGa – ‘The Fame’