We got a first look at Tame Impala’s upcoming sophomore effort Lonerism a couple of weeks ago with “Apocalypse Dreams,” and now the Aussie band is streaming their first official, bona fide single off the new record. “Elephant” is a bass-heavy stomper of a track, driven and dancey and hard around the edges like T-Rex chewing up the Beatles. Take a listen below.


    Lonerism will be released via Modular People on October 9. The album’s tracklist follows:

    1. Be Above It
    2. Endors Toi
    3. Apocalypse Dreams
    4. Mind Mischief
    5. Music To Walk Home By
    6. Why Won’t They Talk To Me?
    7. Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
    8. Keep On Lying
    9. Elephant
    10. She Just Won’t Believe Me
    11. Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control
    12. Sun’s Coming Up