“Dull Tool”

    The soundtrack for Judd Apatow’s upcoming film This is 40 includes tracks from Paul McCartney, Ryan Adams, Paul Simon, Wilco, and the Avett Brothers. Although the most anticipated song on the soundtrack is Fiona Apple’s contribution “Dull Tool,” as it’s the first time she’s created an original song for a film. 

    She doesn’t disappoint with a chorus that states: 

    “You don’t kiss when you kiss. You don’t fuck when you fuck. You don’t say what you mean. You don’t talk loud enough.”

    Listen below. [MTV Brazil via CoS]


    This is 40 Soundtrack  tracklist:

    01. I’m Your Angel – Yoko Ono

    02. Always Judging – Norah Jones

    03. What Do You Like? – Graham Parker with Punch Brothers

    04. Sick Of You – Lindsey Buckingham

    05. Rewrite – Paul Simon

    06. Shining Through The Dark (Live) – Ryan Adams

    07. Lunch Box Odd Sox – Paul McCartney

    08. Brother & Sister – Lindsey Buckingham Featuring Norah Jones

    09. Theme 1 (Debbie & Oliver) – Jon Brion

    10. Watch The Moon Come Down – Graham Parker & The Rumour

    11. Days That We Die – Loudon Wainwright

    12. She Acts Like You – Lindsey Buckingham

    13. Dull Tool – Fiona Apple

    14. Lucky Now (Live) – Ryan Adams

    15. I Got You – Wilco

    16. Live & Die – The Avett Brothers


    Bonus Track (Digital Only):

    17. Protection (Live) – Graham Parker & The Rumour