Feature ·

First Look: 03.01.05 (The Doves, Eluvium, Ivy)

Heading to the record store? Here's what's new this week.

The Doves

Some Cities

Album player
The same signature backup harmonies, bursts of psychedelia and John Squire-esque guitar manifestations underscore Doves' much-anticipated return to Brit-pop glory. Is it as momentous as 2002's The Last Broadcast? Time will tell, chums. In "Black and White Town," singer/guitarist Jimi Goodwin visits the bouncy piano-based country Brit-pop band Gene ensconced itself in during the '90s, and the Manchester outfit thankfully shows no signs of slowing down, except for the occasional dreamy watercolor psyche parts. As Jeff Lebowski once adequately put it, "Far out. Far fucking out, man."


Talk Amongst the Trees
Temporary Residence Limited

Album samples
Matthew Cooper, the one-man ambient-sound-makin' machine from Portland, Oregon, continues to keep his atmospheric compositions as interesting as their back-stories. The expansive blankets of sound on Talk Amongst the Trees, his third full-length in as many years under the Eluvium moniker, are rooted in guitar and piano, but you would never guess as much. By way of synths and keyboards, the tones have been developed into something beautiful and entirely unrecognizable. Talk might very well be the "talk" of 2005.


In the Clear

Album samples
Ivy's sophomore album, 1997's catchy Apartment Life, ruminated with elements from the 1960s and did wonders for Paris native Dominique Durand and her New York-based three-piece. The band followed up that effort with Long Distance in 2001 and an all-covers album in 2002 called Guestroom, which was pretty well received, even if the band didn't do anything off Van Halen's Diver Down. In the Clear doesn't have any Van Halen songs either, but it does feature James Iha and Fountain's of Wayne's Jody Porter and was produced by reputable U.K. producer Steve Osborne, who's also worked with New Order and Happy Mondays. Ivy's studio experimentation increased tenfold for In the Clear, which boasts Hallmark-ish song titles like "I've Got You Memorized." I bet you do.


The Mars Volta
Francis the Mute

Album samples
Against Lars Ulrich's whining wishes, albums continue to be leaked pre-release on the Internet. Sometimes it helps: Frances the Mute, the second album from the band comprised mainly of Cedric Bixler and Omar Rodriguez, has already garnered myth-like approval. If the Mars Volta ever had easily explainable compositions, they don't now; with no song breaks and some of these numbers creeping past the unacceptable thirteen-minute mark, Frances the Mute (which occasionally features John Frusciante and Flea of the Chili Peppers) will be another weird alleyway to the band's much-discussed dynamics. And the album cover's creepier than a David Lynch film.


50 Cent: The Massacre (March 3, 2005) (Interscope)
Amos Lee: Amos Lee (Blue Note)
Black Leotard Front: Casual Friday 12" (DFA)
By the End of Tonight: A Tribute to Tigers (Temporary Residence)
Death Cab for Cutie: The John Byrd EP (Barsuk)
Doves: Some Cities (Capitol)
Drop the Lime: This Means Forever (Temporary Residence)
El Pus: Hoodlum Rock (Virgin)
Eluvium: Talk Amongst the Trees (Temporary Residence)
Elvis Costello/The Imposters: Delivery Man (Deluxe Edition) (Lost Highway)
Gangsta Dre: Stand and Deliver (33rd Street)
Henry Rollins: Shock & Awe: The Tour (DVD) (21361)
Hollow Tip: 30 Rounds (33rd Street)
Ivy: In the Clear (Nettwerk)
Juan MacLean: I Robot/Less Than Human 12" (DFA)
LCD Soundsystem: Yr City's a Sucker 12" (DFA)
The Mars Volta: Frances the Mute (Universal)
Minus Story: Heaven and Hell (Jagjaguwar)
Nagisa Ni Te: Dream Sounds (Jagjaguwar)
Norma Jean: O God, The Aftermath (Tooth & Nail)
Okkervil River: For Real (Jagjaguwar)
Pimp C: The Sweet James Jones Story (Rap A Lot)
Player Hater: Picking You Up Just to Put You Down (Kessel Run)
R.E.M.: Around the Sun (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Automatic for the People (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Green (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Monster (Reissue)
R.E.M.: New Adventures in Hi-Fi (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Out of Time (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Reveal (Reissue)
R.E.M.: The Best of R.E.M. (Reissue)
R.E.M.: Up (Reissue)
Regina Spektor: Soviet Kitsch (Wire)
Solomon Burke: Make Do With What You Got (Shout Factory)
Tarentel: Big Black Square (Temporary Residence)
Tarentel: Paper White (Temporary Residence)
Thug Lordz: In Thuggs We Trust (WEA)
Transistor, Transistor: Erase All Names and Likeness (Level Plane)
Various: Sunday Nights: The Songs of Junior Kimbrough (Fat Possum)
Vico-C: Vico C (EMI International)
*Release dates may change. E-mail brandon@prefixmag.com with correction or additions.


- First Look: 02.22.05 (Airborn Audio, Iron And Wine, Dead Meadow) First Look: 03.08.05 (50 Cent, Kasabian, Stars)
First Look

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments