Young Money

Young Money was a catch-all brand for Lil' Wayne's various development projects. The name was applied to the rapper's Young Money Entertainment, which was an imprint of Universal Records. Although Lil' Wayne stepped down as president in 2007, his close affiliation lent the label considerable press attention.


Young Money Entertainment signed future celebrities like Drake and Nicki Minaj. The label also had rappers and singers on its roster, like Gudda Gudda, Jae Millz, Lil Chuckee, Lil Twist, Mack Maine, Shanell, Short Dawg, T-Streets and Tyga. All of the aforementioned were grouped together under the collective name "Young Money" and released an album, We Are Young Money, in 2009. The album also featured appearances from the group's godfather, Lil' Wayne, as well as Southern fixtures like Birdman and Lloyd. The album's lead single, "EveryGirl In The World," charted at No. 10 on Billboard's Hot 100, and its follow-up, "BedRock," peaked at No. 2. In March 2010 the label signed rapper Cory Gunz, who was included in XXL magazine's "Freshmen 10" that same year.

In 2010, male members of the Young Money group were criticized by rap groupie "Kat Stacks" for being "a bunch of motherfucking roommates... [who] call themselves Young Money, because they don't got no grown-ass money." Stacks also accused members of the group of reporting her to Children and Family Services. ~Dan Nishimoto

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments