There was a time when there was only a certain breed of music fan that could wax poetic about both Black Moon and Masters At Work productions. The crossover between the hip-hop and dance worlds was constant, but hardly mainstream. By the 2000s that crossover practically mushroom clouded as Timbaland adopted Euro Dance norms to re-brand global pop music. Even 50 Cent talked un-ironically about making a dance music album. So, consider this a head's up that you need to know names like Axwell.

The Swedish DJ and producer Axel "Axwell" Hedfors has been a mainstay in the European dance circuit since the early 2000s. His collaboration with Isabel Fructuoso Mambana marked an early hit in his career with 2002's "No Reason." Major taste-makers, like the aforementioned Lil' Louis Vega and Ben Watt, spun the track in their sets -- a surefire way to make a break. In 2003 his collaboration with singer Nevada "Wait A Minute" similarly earned accolades and a spot in the sets of Pete Tong and David Guetta. His 2004 song "Feel The Vibe" was also heard widely and was voted as the No. 2 song of 2005 by Ministry Of Sound.

Hedfors has also worked with a wide range of pop stars. He has remixed Usher ("Burn"), N.E.R.D. ("Maybe"), Nelly Furtado ("Promiscuous") and Madonna ("Jump"). And he co-wrote and co-produced "Rain on Me" from Cyndi Lauper's 2008 album, Bring Ya To The Brink.

In 2007 he began working with Steve Angello and Sebastian Ingrosso under the Swedish House Mafia moniker. He also recorded with these colleagues separately: In 2006 he and Steve Angello teamed up as "Supermode" to remix Bronski Beat's "Smalltown Boy;" he also worked with former Swedish House Mafia member Eric Prydz as "Axer" to produce the songs "123" and "321."

Find us on Facebook

Latest Comments